the weekend chronicles.

This was the first weekend us girls have really been split up, as Julie and Molly headed off to Munich for Oktoberfest. By Friday we were all exhausted so Fiona, Molly (the other Molly!), and I decided to head to the movies. Since we get a student discount and the theaters are never too busy it was the perfect way to unwind. We saw Rush and it was amazing! I highly recommend it for your next movie night because we were enthralled the entire time not only because Chris Hemsworth is so good looking, but the actor who plays Nikki Lauda was phenomenal.

20130930-102235.jpg

Settling in and getting ready for the movie! The preview section was really weird because it was legit commercials that would play in between television shows in America.

Of course we had to hit up the farmer’s market on Saturday, especially because I needed my ingredients for my big family dinner. I hit up the most beautiful stand that has tons of fresh cheeses, olives, pestos, and hummus. I grabbed some mozzarella and fresh pesto and started to get really excited about making my meal.

20130930-102242.jpgThis time we decided to choose another food cart that seemed to be a hit, which was the crepe cart. They had dessert crepes and actual crepes and I have never had something so flavorful in my life! I mean this was a work of art! It had ham, cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, pesto, fresh mustard, scallions, and onions. The mix of flavors was unreal– the man is a genius in my book. We all decided we are going to try the dessert one next week– a nutella crepe (which were the most popular with the people ordering around us). The best part is they wrap them up so you can walk around with them so we walked down Shoppe Street and watched a performer.

We spent the rest of the day grocery shopping and watching movies. I did a little homework and headed to bed early.

 

Sunday was family dinner day! We went to a cafe to grab a coffee and some last minute ingredients and I cleaned the apartment for our guests. I was making stuffed chicken breast. I was really proud of myself that I didn’t do a pasta dish because it would have been a lot less scary than meat. My goal was not to poison anyone and I had my crossed fingers that I didn’t cook the chicken to be hard as a rock.

20130930-102251.jpg

This was the before! Each person got their own breast stuffed with mozzarella, pesto, and some breadcrumbs on top.

20130930-102258.jpg

I set the table best I could. We have the smallest table so there wasn’t enough room to set everyone comfortably. Fiona made the salad and it was so yummy! She included some veggies from the farmer’s market and a tad of feta that made it so yummy!

20130930-102304.jpg

Molly made beer biscuits and they were delectable! The perfect side dish.

20130930-102309.jpg

The final product! I was SO PROUD of myself because the chicken came out great and everyone seemed to love it!! Now I have a dish I can actually make. Shout out to my Mom who kept me alive during the process by answering all the weird questions I had.

20130930-102314.jpg

Seriously the chicken was amazing. The pesto was the prefect flavor to the mozzarella and the chicken was moist and yummy!

 

We spent the rest of the night listening to all the crazy Oktoberfest stories the girls had and before we knew it, it was time to hop into bed and start another week. Another successful weekend!

 

xoxo

One thought on “the weekend chronicles.

  1. That all looks so delicious. Congrats girls! Sounds like you had a fun and relaxing weekend. Can’t wait to experience the farmers market and all the carts of amazing food choices.

Leave a Reply

