Family.. the final chapter

The final excursion was to Connemara National Park–an area of Ireland that is all a national park. The views were beautiful and we had a fabulous tour guide, but it was cold and rainy towards the end of the day. The tour also took us to Kylemore Abbey which was the most beautiful castle I have ever seen. It is still a working Abbey, but we were allowed to tour the downstairs. It was once owned by two prominent wealthy families and was a boarding school for girls until 2010. I found it so sad that they had to close the school because having gone to a boarding school myself I could feel how the grounds could play part in so many memories. I have never seen a view like that when coming out of the Abbey. It is nestled in mountains. Further, there is a massive garden that took us twenty minutes to tour because it was so beautiful.

ImageImageImage

The countryside was gorgeous and there were sheep everywhere. We saw them running at one point and it was the funniest thing I have ever witnessed… you would agree if you saw them running after one another.

ImageImage

The gardens at Kylemore Abbey were so well maintained and beautiful. I even bonded with a cat that I chose to call Lionel. I even had a photo shoot of him which resulted in twenty photos of a cat on my IPhone. I was sad to leave Lionel behind.

Image

The Abbey was so grande and magnificent. The sheer size of it… and we only toured a small part! It was so still and quiet… a sense of peace came over you.

Image

We also toured the small Church next to the Abbey (and of course lit some more candles)

ImageImage

Image

We stopped in a small city called Cong and we got to see a castle that is now a five star hotel. If you ever want to have a small wedding somewhere or escape to experience some peace—- Cong and its castle hotel is the place to go!!

ImageImageImage

You can see the castle behind me and the cute city center just a short walk away.

 

Before I knew it time was up and I was accompanying the family to the bus station to see them off:

Image

I am so happy they were able to come and experience a little bit of Irish life. I absolutely loved having them and seeing more of Ireland myself.

 

Now I am off to bed because I fly to London for the weekend tomorrow. Here I come Kate Middleton!!

 

xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Family.. the final chapter

  1. Looked like everyone had a great time…and typical Irish weather! Look forward to seeing you at Christmas. I can’t decide on your gift – I might get something new for you…like an Irish sweater? 🙂

  2. It was a fabulous vacation. So great to see you. We are so proud of how well you have adapted and settled into your Irish lifestyle. It was so nice to have you show us around and see some of the most amazing sights.

Leave a Reply

