London

How are we liking the new blog look? I thought it was time to update the look a bit. Hopefully it shows up properly on your computer screen because it is too darn adorable not to be seen!

Things were getting a little boring around here so I jetted off to London. I kid, I kid, but indeed I did jet off to London this weekend to meet up with some Holy Cross gals all stationed around Europe (most in Spain and one in France). I hoped on a RyanAir flight, which was an experience all unto itself. There is a reason that airline is cheap. After landing the plan was to meet my friend Charlotte and take the train and a series of tube stops to get to the hostel. Things quickly turned for the worst when she didn’t show up and I had to do it all alone. I am so proud of myself!! Despite Charlotte having all the info I asked anyone I could and made my way closer and closer to the hostel. I was really anxious and shaking and doing this all alone in the darkness, so eventually I remembered my Dad’s advice that when in doubt get into a cab. Good thing I did because I would have gotten really lost walking… alone… at night. Instead, he dropped me off right in front of the hostel and I gladly hugged my friends (managing to hold in tears). I am so proud of myself for keeping it cool and taking multiple forms of transportation to get to where I needed to be. Don’t worry…. Charlotte showed up an hour later, also a little shaken, but completely fine. Moral of the story is to be more prepared in case traveling alone does inadvertently happen.

We grabbed dinner on Friday night and hopped right into bed because we had a busy day on Saturday. We awoke at 7:00 AM to buy our tickets for the tour bus….. I would highly suggest doing this because its a hop on hop off system so we just hopped off whenever we wanted to tour a certain area or walk around.

Image

We loved sitting atop the bus and taking in all the sights.

We saw a ton on Saturday: Buckingham Palace, the outdoor Christmas fair, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Bridge, Hyde Park, and finished with a river cruise in which we saw the London Eye, London Bridge, and everything along the river all lit up.

Image

We spent a ton of time looking at a map to get around. While it is super easy to navigate your way around the city, we certainly needed assistance.

Image

Classic phone booth photo.

Image

Image

When we arrived at Buckingham Palace I almost cried because I was so darn excited… this excited:

Image

I mean my obsession with Kate and Will was massive prior to this trip….. but it has grown even worse. I even purchased a flag of their first kiss and the wedding date. I am not ashamed at all.

Image

Image

We were able to get some amazing photos thanks to the incredibly kind people of London– seriously I thought the Irish were nice, but the British are amazing! Every person was so fabulously kind and thanks to random strangers we were able to get shots of the entire group at almost every place.

ImageImage

We were able to see the changing of the guard ceremony complete with a marching band. This was by far the highlight of my day.

Image

I was feeling like a queen so nothing better than a photo with the golden gates!

Image

The Christmas Market was amazing! It was complete with amazing decorations, high end stores, cheap market stands, and a massive Christmas tree.

Image

Image

We saw Big Ben and Westminster Abbey– a must since Kate and Will were married in the exact area and parliament holds session there. As a political science major I thought it only proper to see such political dwellings.

Image

We got to walk across the London bridge and hopped right on the river cruise at dusk and got to see the London Eye, London Bridge and so much more lit up at night—I literally fell in love.

Image

Image

Image

Saturday night we hit up the Ice Bar– a bar completely made of ice in which you wear large capes to keep warm and drink out of ice cubes. Literally.

ImageImageImage

The bar was really cool, but keep in mind (should you ever head to London) that you need to make a reservation 20 days ahead. The reservation only lasts 45 minutes so we headed to a club afterwards and danced the night away– the DJ was playing the best music and we all needed to just have some carefree fun after the busy day we had.

1464763_10151787623627965_851268858_n

Sunday we woke up early to head to the London Eye. The 360 view of the city was amazing. We then headed to Harrods because we thought it was only natural to head to the most amazing department store ever while in London.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Since everything is high end we simply walked out with a cupcake. I chose the most royal of them all, complete with gold wrapping of course!

 

Other highlights of the trip (things I don’t want to forget):

-Me using Lizzy’s toothbrush the entire time, by accident– we both had the same one. oops!

-Charlotte forgetting that Spain is an hour time difference so she woke up at 6 AM rather than 7AM to shower…. waking all of us up in the processes. Classic

-M&M world…. and everyone modeling in front of all the colors for the camera.

-eating the best burger in the entire world after a day of sightseeing.

-sifting through tons of clothes at Top Shop and H&M, but having to not buy anything because my bag would be over the limit.. le sigh

-everything being so darn expensive… keep that in mind— 5 pounds is 10 US dollars…. this made for one expensive trip and some college gals being left feeling poor.

 

Still dreaming of London….. back to reality…. lots of homework before I head to Dublin on Thursday for the Lumineers concert!

xoxoxo

One thought on “London

  1. I’m exhausted just reading about all your adventures. I’m sure all things royal was the highlight of the trip. Nothing like a weekend in London to break up the monotony. 😘

Leave a Reply

